Have versions you don't need anymore? Delete them. You can delete any inactive version at any time. If you want to delete the active version, you must first activate a different version and then delete the now inactive version.
Authors with the default Editor or Writer role can delete article and custom content category versions. If you're using a custom role:
- To delete article versions, you'll need the Articles custom author role permission to Delete versions of articles.
- To delete custom content category versions, you'll need the Categories custom author role permission to Edit categories.
The information below varies based on whether you're using our 2026 new editor or old editor.
To figure out which instructions to follow:
- Open any article for editing.
- If the lefthand navigation is collapsed and there's a link near the top of the page to Switch to old editor, follow the New editor documentation.
- If the lefthand navigation is expanded and the top of the editor and the righthand column have a heavier grey background, follow the Old editor documentation.
Here are side-by-side examples of the new editor and the old editor:
Sample New editor
Sample Old editorTry out the new editor
We'd love your feedback on the new editor. To switch to the new editor, open any article for editing and select the Switch to new editor link at the top of the editor.
To delete an article version in the new editor:
- Open the article whose version you want to delete in the editor.
- Hover over the version you wish to delete.
- Select the triple dot menu that displays to the right of the version's name.
- Select Delete version:

- The Delete version modal opens. Select Delete to delete the version.
A version deletion confirmation message appears and the page updates to remove the deleted version.
To delete a custom content category version or an article version in the old editor, it depends whether you're currently viewing the version you'd like to delete.
If you're currently viewing the version you'd like to delete:
- Select the triple dot Version actions menu to the right of the version in the Versions section.
Select the triple dots to open the Version actions menu. - Select Delete from the Version actions dropdown.
Select Delete from the Version actions dropdown
- A confirmation modal opens. Review the version number listed and be sure it's the version you want to delete. If it is, select OK to complete the deletion.
Sample version delete confirmation pop-up
- Upon deletion, the editor will refresh and open the current active version.
To delete a version when you aren't viewing it:
- Select the trashcan icon to the right of another inactive version to delete:
Select the trashcan icon next to other inactive versions to delete them - A confirmation modal opens. Review the version number listed and be sure it's the version you want to delete. If it is, select OK to complete the deletion.
Sample version delete confirmation pop-up - The editor won't refresh, but the deleted version will disappear from the list.




