All articles have a status. You can manually change the publishing status by selecting a new status in the Publishing Status dropdown, then saving the article.
The seven statuses available are:
- Draft (default status for newly created articles)
- Ready to Publish
- Rejected Draft
- Needs Review
An article in Draft status is not visible to readers. This is the default status when you create a new article.
Ready to Publish | Rejected Draft
The Ready to Publish and Rejected Draft statuses are optional statuses, supporting your documentation editing and review workflow. Both of these statuses keep the article hidden from readers, like a Draft.
As an example, some articles need to be approved before being published. You can switch the status to Ready to Publish once it is ready for approval. The approver then reviews the article, and either changes the status to Publish if approved, or switches it to Rejected Draft if it still needs work.
A Published article is visible to anyone with access to your knowledge base, unless you have restricted it to specific reader groups. Refer to Reader Groups for more information.
A Needs Review article is still visible in your knowledge base. You can view all articles with the Needs Review status in Knowledge Base > Manage. This status is a great way of keeping your knowledge base up to date and relevant. You can regularly check for articles that require review, update them if necessary, and switch them back to Published status.
To set an article to Needs Review, you can:
- Manually set an article's status to Needs Review as a reminder to review it.
- Configure your knowledge base to automatically switch published articles to Needs Review if the article hasn't been updated within a specified period of time:
- Go to Settings > Basic.
- In Editor Settings, select Automatically set articles to "Needs Review" if older than the below date.
- Enter the time period. For example, select 6 in the first dropdown, and Months in the second, to set the time period to six months.
- Select Save to update your settings.
Archived articles are not visible in your knowledge base. You can access them by navigating to Knowledge Base > Manage and selecting Archived from the filter dropdown.
Archived articles function, in practice, like a Deleted article. Why then might you use Archived instead of Deleted?
Often, it's for historical/auditing purposes. You might choose to use Archived to help maintain a record of what was published previously, or to create templates from.
They can also be useful for content creation. Unlike Deleted articles, Archived articles are still available to use when you create a new article and select "Copy from existing". So Archived can be a useful status when you don't want content visible publicly, want to indicate it was previously published (rather than kicking it to a Draft status), and want to be able to create new articles by copying Archived ones.
Deleted articles are not visible on your knowledge base. You can access by navigating to Knowledge Base > Manage > Deleted.