Authors with the default Editor or Writer role can add, edit, and delete version notes. If you're using a custom author role, you'll need to have these permissions:
- For article version notes: The Articles custom author role permission to Edit versions of articles. Authors with custom roles without this permission will be able to view version notes only.
- For custom content category version notes: The Category custom author role permission to Edit categories. Authors with custom roles without this permission won't be able to open custom content categories in the editor.
The information below varies based on whether you're using our 2026 new editor or old editor.
To figure out which instructions to follow:
- Open any article for editing.
- If the lefthand navigation is collapsed and there's a link near the top of the page to Switch to old editor, follow the New editor documentation.
- If the lefthand navigation is expanded and the top of the editor and the righthand column have a heavier grey background, follow the Old editor documentation.
Here are side-by-side examples of the new editor and the old editor:
Sample New editor
Sample Old editorTry out the new editor
We'd love your feedback on the new editor. To switch to the new editor, open any article for editing and select the Switch to new editor link at the top of the editor.
To add, edit, or remove a version note in the new article editor:
- Hover over the version's card.
- Select the notes icon (grey speech bubble icon) that appears between the version name and the triple dot menu. The Edit version notes modal opens:
Select the version notes icon - Make your edits in the text box itself. To remove a version note, delete all the text.
- Select Save in the modal to save the note.
Authors with custom roles that don't have permission to edit article versions can view version notes for a version they're currently viewing in the editor, but they won't have access to the version notes icon to open the modal or make any edits.
To add, edit, or remove a version note in the custom content category editor or the old article editor:
- Select the notes icon to the right of the version number. Versions with existing notes display two lines in the icon. Versions without existing notes display a plus sign in the icon:

- Make your edits in the text box itself. To remove a version note, delete all the text.
- Select Save to save your changes.
- Select Cancel to close the note without saving your changes.
- You can also select anywhere outside of the note to close the note box if you haven't made any edits.
The text field can hold a large amount of text. If more text is available, a scrollbar appears.
Use the scrollbar or drag the lower right corner to view additional text:
Authors with custom roles that don't have permission to edit article versions can view version notes, but they'll only have the option to Close version notes instead of being able to Save them:
Sample Version notes when author doesn't have permission to edit versions. Note they can only Close the note.