No longer need an article to be considered required, or mess up on a Start Date? You can remove the Start Date or the required option and still retain all historical data.
Have an article that might fit in two different categories? Instead of creating those two articles independently, create a Shared content article . The content (body) of the article as well as all versions stay in sync across all shared article...